My lessons of reading 52 books in two consecutive years

Mario Acosta
2 min readOct 26, 2021

Let's first begin by saying that reading has been one of the best investments I have ever made in my life. The truth is that my family used to pay me 4 dollars for each book I read. It seemed a lot back then, though it cultivated the habit. Now half of my salary goes to books!

In summary:

  1. Doing and practicing what the books teach you is more important than reading
  2. Books can become repetitive
  3. Getting into the habit of reading still helps you as it constantly refreshes your mind and pushes you forward.
  4. The more you read, the more general knowledge you gather
  5. It provides you self confidence
  6. Your surroundings, including your family, have a limited knowledge that they can teach you. Reading stretches your expertise to new paths and shortcuts that you could not have imagined.

You do not know all the problems that you will face in life. So why not learn from other people's mistakes and save some of your most valuable resource, time.

Imagine I gave you a dish from each country in the world. You finish tasting all the plates worldwide and figure out your favorite dish is from Gambia (Yes, Gambia is a country). But, of course, you would want to have tasted…

--

--

Mario Acosta

Mexican that wants to improve this world and show people how incredible it is.